Goodreads Sci-Fi and Fantasy Week: Why I Like the Genres

This week on the site Goodreads, they’re celebrating the genres of Sci-Fi and Fantasy – two genres that I like very much. While I’m not a huge fan of sci-fi books per say, I am a fan of science fiction movies. I’m also a fan of fantasy books.

I think one of the first sci-fi movies I ever saw was Back to the Future, a movie that has been my favorite for as long as I can remember. I love the characters, the plot, and of course, the idea of time travel. Do I believe that it would ever be possible to travel through time? No. Do I think it’s an awesome concept? Absolutely!

I’ve seen many sci-fi movies and TV shows – Back to the Future, Jurassic Park, Jaws, Spider-Man, Superman, AI, Armageddon, ET, Quantum Leap, too many to name. In addition, I’ve read many fantasy novels and short stories – Ink Heart, Harry Potter, Wicked, etc. Science Fiction and Fantasy are two of the most imaginative genres out there!

That’s the great thing about fantasy and science fiction – almost anything goes! It’s fun to play around with reality and see what one can come up with. Let’s face it, sometimes we want to think about other things besides what happens in our daily lives. Fantasizing about the ‘what-ifs’ can be an entertaining thing to do as long as the what-ifs don’t cause us stress and anxiety.

Perhaps my love for fantasy and science fiction is why the two books I wrote are of the fantasy genre. Fantasy is so much fun to write! With fantasy, you can just let your mind wander and see what it comes up with – some of the best stories come from thinking outside the box!

Like fantasy, science fiction is extremely flexible when it comes to what you can do with it. The strangest concepts can be molded into amazing stories if done so properly.

Real life is far from boring – exciting things happen all the time. However, I think we can all agree that once in a while, it’s fun to imagine a world where fantastical and supernatural things occur. I really do believe that science fiction and fantasy are two very important, fun genres. They both help to open the mind!

What are your favorite sci-fi and fantasy movies and TV shows? Favorite books that fall into these two genres? What science fiction and fantasy concepts are your favorites? Here is are some sci-fi and fantasy shows, movies, and books that I recommend:

Sci-Fi & Fantasy Shows & Movies 

Back to the Future

Jurassic Park

Jaws

Spider-Man

Superman

AI

Armageddon

ET

Quantum Leap

Warehouse 13

Haven

Lois and Clark

Star-Man

Skeptic

The Twilight Zone

The Langoliers

Books

Ink Heart

Harry Potter

Wicked

Abstract Clarity and Rest in Piece (my own horror and fantasy books)

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Goodreads Sci-Fi and Fantasy Week: Why I Like the Genres

  1. I’ve always been into fantasy whether it’s books, movies, shows, or video games, but I didn’t really recognize my live for sci-fi until pretty recently though one of my favorite shows was and still is Star Trek TNG, and my favorite game and story of all time Final Fantasy VII is more science fantasy than just the latter. I actually think my favorite genre is sci-fantasy now, because I love that fusion.I added Ray Bradbuty, Isaac Asimov, and Kurt Vonnegut to my TBR list.

    My favorite sci-fi/fantasy stories are GRRM’s A Song of Ice and Fire series, which is my favorite book series and (imho) the best story I’ve ever read; the fore mentioned FFVII, which is my life’s obsession and favorite all time story for both intellectual and emotional reasons. TNG which I mentioned, too, Doctor Who, and more that my brain is blanking on lol. For books I grew up reading Anne Rice, and currently I think my favorite authors this year are Grace Draven and Maggie Stiefvater, who wrote the Wraith Kings and The Raven Cycle series’ respectively.

    Fantasy and sci-fi are just so all encompassing with branches that lead to and include the paranormal romance and horror genres, which I enjoy, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

