New Stories And Uncertainty

I’m currently working on a new novel, or at least, what I hope will become one. I have to be honest though and say that I’m not feeling as confident about this book as my other two. I keep wondering if what I have planned is enough to be made into a successful story. Is the plot good enough? Is the story idea fresh enough? Is it something readers would really want to sink their teeth into? So many questions are swirling around in my mind.

A part of me really likes the story idea and I feel that if I can write it well enough, then it’ll be successful. However, I do have doubts – I’m not above admitting that.

I don’t think I’m ready to give up on the idea quite yet though. In fact, I still like the idea quite a bit. I just need to really start diving into the story, after all I don’t have that much written yet. Also, there’s nothing wrong with me asking those I trust for their opinions, which I plan on doing.

I’m writing this post to tell you that it’s okay not to be 100% confident when writing something new – it doesn’t make you a bad writer or mean that your story isn’t up to snuff. All it means is that you’re human and that writing something good means so much to you, that you want to do a good job. While doubting in your abilities to write something extraordinary is never a good thing, caring that your work will turn out how you want it, is. As writers, we should want our writing to be something we’re proud of.

Remember that you are a talented writer. Look at your previous work and remind yourself that the wonderful words that you see came from your creativity. Trust your instincts and have faith in your abilities. Don’t give up on your story right away if you have some doubts, work with it for a while. If you still don’t like it, then you can work on something else, but don’t let temporary uncertainty make you question your talent as a writer.

One thought on “New Stories And Uncertainty

Leave a Reply

