Accepting Compliments, Being Proud of Your Accomplishments

I was taught – and believe – that you shouldn’t be conceited or big headed. It’s rude, annoying, and makes others feel lesser.

While I don’t think that a person should be conceited, I don’t think that there’s anything wrong with accepting the kind words of others or being proud of yourself for your accomplishments.

As many of you know, I’ve loved to write for as long as I can remember. I’ve also, since about high school, known that I wanted to be a professional author. I admit that, although I believe in my writing and think I have a talent for it, I did start to doubt my ability to become an author.

However, with some help from self-publishing, I published not one, but two books! Since publishing my work, I have received quite a few very nice compliments. One of my friends said that the book (Rest in Piece) was even better than she expected and another friend said that she hoped to one day be half the writer that I am! Those are two amazing compliments! I’ve also had a few good reviews for my books as well!

This is a very exciting thing for me and calls for celebration as well as appreciation. Now, yes, I shouldn’t become too big headed or conceited. Am I the best writer in the world? No. Is there room for improvement? Of course! However, there’s nothing wrong with being proud of myself. Not every writer is lucky enough to get such fabulous compliments for their work.

I’m not writing this post to boast. Rather, I’m writing this to assure you that it’s okay to celebrate your success. It’s okay to paint the town red when you hear that others are responding well to your hard work. As long as you don’t throw it in others’ faces to be mean or disrespectful, it’s okay to illustrate how happy you are that you’re being recognized by others for what you’re good at!

Be proud of your success and accept the compliments that are thrown your way! Use them to fuel even more success and confidence!

*This post is dedicated to all the writers in the world. It is also dedicated to them people who were kind enough to compliment my writing along with purchase my books and write reviews. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

