My Writing Life

If you were to ask me when I knew I wanted to be an author, I’d probably have to say in high school. However, if you asked me when I began to love writing, I’d have to go back way further than that.

I always remember being in first grade and, with my finger, tracing in the carpet a letter. Maybe it was the letter ‘B’, I’m not totally sure. I even think my teacher at the time commented about it and how it showed I was interested in letters or writing or, something like that. It was a long time ago so the memory is a little fuzzy. I do remember tracing in the carpeting though and I remember loving to write.

As time went on, my best friend and I would write stories together in elementary school. We’d pick up a notebook and just start writing. I also remember distinctively writing poetry – maybe not very good poetry (it centered around a crush I had and I remember just repeating the same lines over and over again), but poetry nonetheless.

Above all else, I’ve always liked to write stories. I’ve tried my hand at writing poetry and even song lyrics (some have come out okay), but neither of these have felt as good and as right as when I write stories.

When I was younger, I read a lot. I still read today, but not as much. Sadly, I think I’ve become what is  known as a ‘mood reader’, a term I’ve recently learned means that, well, I have to be in the mood to read. Unfortunately, I’m often not in the mood. This is going to make me sound old, but I think due to the internet and TV, I sometimes tend to choose that over reading. It’s instant gratification and takes less thinking. Plus, it’s a lot more visual. I’m not saying that I like it more, it’s just how things have turned out. Trust me, I still love to read and find it way more essential than watching TV or surfing the web.

My point is that I’ve always loved to read and have found it extremely important. I think the love for reading is what made me love writing. Being a writer helps you become part of the literary world. I’ve admired so many authors over the years and have enjoyed reading their work. Now, as a writer, I can express myself and my ideas through words and literature. Hopefully, just as I’ve enjoyed many books over the years, readers will enjoy my writing.

The thought that someone could read a book that I wrote and fall in love with it makes me so happy. It’s not about the money or the fame (though those are nice things), but rather it’s about being able to give something to others that they will enjoy. Also, I love the idea of being part of something so wonderful.

So that’s my writing journey in a nutshell, or a post for that matter! What’s your writing journey? When did your love for writing begin?

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Writing Life

  1. What a lovely post! Amazing to hear the way your love for writing was born and developed.

    I always loved writing, from very young and focused on poetry a lot. Then when I was 9 I won a creative writing competition at our school, even beating everyone in the school years above me. I focused on story writing ever since!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to schedule out my reading time, but I understand “mood reading.” Reading is both relaxing and engaging. I’m learning to shuffle around what I do on a daily basis so that I can work on my more cerebral projects first (I was leaving my editing to right before bed. Bad idea), but I typically read what I have on my planner as soon as a get home.

    I think I started writing around age six, and it was something inspired by either my Guinea pig or my favorite video game at the time. I knew I wanted to write. Sadly I was discouraged because “writing won’t pay the bills.” 🙄 Oh well. I’m an adult now and I do what I want.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I enjoy reading but sometimes I want something that I can just sit back and watch. I like using my imagination when reading, but sometimes watching stuff seems more relaxing

      It is difficult to make money by writing, but it is fun! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly! Reading is one of those weird passive, but mentally active activities. Watching a show can be, too, if you’re doing it critically, but I feel it’s easier to “shut down” doing that than it is with reading.

        It is and there’s no guarantee of success, but that’s not why we’re doing it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

