The Importance of Reading

Today’s post is a little different in that, instead of it being about writing, it’s about reading. Also, this post is a little more observational than anything else.

I don’t remember when or why I really started thinking about this one day, but I realized how important reading truly is and how much we do it without even realizing it. There are words all over the place – in books, on billboards, in restaurant menus, in magazines – everywhere. If you don’t know how to read, you really can’t get very far in life.

I’m sure that many of you reading this have already come to this conclusion, but I don’t think it’s something that most of us really think about. I think it’s something that we just do without giving a second thought to it. What if we didn’t have the ability to read? How scary would that be?

I don’t have any kids and I’ve never donated money to any charities that teach kids to read (I don’t really make any money to be able to do so), but that doesn’t mean that I don’t understand the importance of teaching individuals to read. When I was in elementary school, our class had the opportunity to read to first graders and let me tell you, it was quite inspirational. Maybe I didn’t realize it at the time, but thinking back, it was a wonderful opportunity. Here I was teaching someone to read – helping them spell out the words and everything. I (and many others) helped kids learn to read! How great is that?

My point is that reading is important. I think that so many of us read without even thinking about what a blessing it truly is. The fact that we can actually sound out words in our mind and understand them really truly is amazing and highly beneficial. So much in this world can only be understood if one has the ability to read.

So take some time today to really think about how blessed you are to be able to read. Even if you don’t like to read books, being able to comprehend the words in front of you is important. So many in this world don’t have the ability or struggle in their journey to learn.

 

Leave a Reply

