Writing Advice: Don’t Force It!

You’ve probably heard that as a writer, you should be writing every day. I both agree and disagree with this piece of advice. While I think that we should try to get some form of writing done each day (whether it’s posting on Instagram, blogging, working on some other form of social media, writing stories or poetry, etc.), I don’t think that we should necessarily get angry with ourselves if we go one or two days without writing.

I don’t think I believe that writing just for the sake of it, is always a good thing. I feel like writing should be something a person wants to do. I think that by saying, “I’m going to make myself write every day”, we sometimes run the risk of making ourselves frustrated with something we’d normally love doing.

Don’t get me wrong, when we’re working on a writing project or setting goals, I think it’s important that we find a way to push through and accomplish our goals. I think that we need to stay dedicated to our craft and not give up on what we’re passionate about. What I’m talking about are the times when we’re in between projects – I think it’s okay to take a break from writing if we want.

Again, I’m not saying don’t write at all. While I don’t consciously tell myself that I have to write every day, I probably do manage to get words written down on a daily basis. Right now, I’m blogging and earlier, I was posting on Instagram – both are forms of writing. However, I don’t think that it’s vital to always be writing a huge novel or even a short story or poem. I think it’s more than okay to give ourselves a break and just relax.

Not every minute has to be about making sure we’re working on our next big story. As writers, we don’t always have to push ourselves to write every single day just because we think it’s what we should be doing. Write when you want to write, when it’s going to make you feel good about yourself and when you can enjoy it. I do believe that there’s a such thing as pushing yourself so much that you start to dread the things you love the most. That, my friends, would be a shame.

What do you think? Should we push ourselves to write every day or is it okay to take breaks from writing sometimes? I’d love to hear your thoughts below!

 

Leave a Reply

