About the Stories – Write in Time

It’s that time again (see what I did there?)! It’s time to talk about the third short story in my new collection, Abstract Clarity! The third story in the book is entitled, Write in Time.

I wrote Write in Time in my senior year of college. I’ve always loved writing and I wanted to tell a story about something magical. I’ve also, over the years, accumulated tons of pens and notebooks. My favorite brand of pen is the Cross. While in the first draft of Write in Time, I didn’t name a specific brand of pen, I decided to do so this time around.

I originally hadn’t planned on including this story in my collection. I was planning on simply writing new stories. However, after realizing that the book was a bit too short how it was, I decided to add another one of my works. I remembered how much I had loved the concept of Write in Time and decided to dust it off of the shelf.

I’m going to be honest here – the story needed some work. I started reading it and I just wasn’t in love with how it was written. I still loved the concept of the story and felt that I could make it into something amazing. So, I started from scratch and here we are!

I’m very happy with the outcome of the story. I took something that I already loved and cleaned it up a little to make it something even better! Yes, it took time and patience, but it was quite enjoyable. I already had the main characters mapped out in my head and knew the main plot points to the story, so all I really had to do was add a few things here and there and improve upon the writing!

I think what re-writing Write in Time taught me was that practice really does make us better at what we’re already good at. Write in Time was already a good story when I first wrote it, but after honing my craft as a writer, I had the opportunity to improve upon what I had already written. Suffice it to say, it was worth the effort! If you ever find yourself deeply in love with one of your stories, but feel that it could be better in terms of the way it’s written, don’t sell yourself short! You have the capability of making the story the best it can be!

I hope you enjoyed another small look into my short story collection. If you wish to purchase your own copy of Abstract Clarity, please feel free to visit Amazon.com. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

