Slow Down and Take Your Time

After publishing my first book, Rest in Piece, I almost immediately wanted to write and publish another book. I think in a lot of ways, that’s a good and positive thing. Writing something and putting it out there for the world to see is exciting and if it doesn’t give you a taste for more, what’s the point of doing it in the first place? Writing and publishing should be exciting so it’s no wonder that we want to continue the process over and over again!

The problem is that writing and publishing are not things that happen overnight – that is, not if you want to do it right. When working on a story or really any type of writing, it’s important that you take your time and not rush. I know it’s hard to not just breeze right through and try to publish something as soon as possible, but it’s not just writing that’s important, but it’s writing well that’s essential – and really what the craft is all about.

Let me give you an example. On my first few short stories for the short story collection I’m working on, I didn’t rush. I just let the stories take me where they did and wrote everything at the right speed. However, with this last story I’m working on for the collection, it’s going to be longer. As much as I want to do a good job with it, it can be difficult to take my time and not want to rush through the writing process. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing (I really do), but I can’t deny that the thought of publishing my second book is pretty exciting! I can’t wait for that day to come! Therefore, it’s tempting not to speed the process along.

I realize though that in order to continue to write my story well, I must slow down and take my time. It’s not like I’m in a hurry. The best results are going to come from writing patiently, not simply writing as quickly as possible as if I have some kind of due date to meet.

So remember, if you want to be successful when writing, take your time. Make sure everything is how you want it before you rush to get it published.

I wish you all the best in your past, current, and future projects!

Leave a Reply

