Taking Your Time And Leaving Pressure Behind

I recently started a new story. My hope is that after writing a few short stories, I will compile them into a short story collection. However, since I don’t really set limits to how long my stories are, it is possible that one of these stories will be longer than a ‘short story’ or of course, I may start a story and it may not go anywhere. That’s besides the point though. The point is that I’ve started a new story and a new writing project.

As many of you know, I recently published the e-book and paperback version of my novel, Rest in Piece, which I must say I don’t regret for a moment. I have had a good amount of sales so far (though there is always room and hope for more!) and I have had pretty good reviews. I will say one thing though, having a book published puts pressure on you to write another one that’s just as good, if not better.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not going to pretend for a minute that I’m some amazing writer or that my book is a bestseller. Still though, it’s out there and people have read it. I loved publishing my own book and I love that people have spent their own hard earned money on something that I wrote! I worry though – what if that’s the only book I can produce? What if it’s the only good book I have in me? I think it’s something that every writer and author worries about – no matter how many copies you’ve sold or how ‘famous’ you may be.

I think the most important thing is to take your time while writing. It can be difficult, but don’t worry about publishing your work right away. Try to concentrate on writing a good story and that’s it. Also, try not to put too much pressure on yourself. I know it can be hard, but putting too much pressure on yourself just takes away the fun of writing and that’s one of the best parts of putting words to paper – to be creative while having fun!

So next time you’re writing, try not to worry about whether or not your work will be good enough to publish. Instead just enjoy yourself and write the best you can. Then after that, you can decide the best route to take!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Taking Your Time And Leaving Pressure Behind

Leave a Reply

