Book Sales: Being Patient

Please do not take this post as a plea for sales. I’m merely writing my thoughts.

So you’ve written your book and had it published. The hard part’s over right? Not quite. While writing and publishing your story are the hardest parts, that doesn’t mean that everything’s going to be easy from here on out.

I admit that once I published my book, I kind of expected a lot of sales to start rolling in. Don’t get me wrong, I know I’m no Stephen King or Harlan Coben, but I honestly expected more sales by now. I appreciate each and every sale that I’ve made (more than you know), but as an author, you want as many readers as you can get.

It can be hard waiting for sales. I’d be lying if I said that I don’t look a lot to see if any more people have purchased my book. I don’t write for the money, but I think we can all agree that it’s nice to make some. Also, and this is important, when people buy my book it makes me happy, not just because of the money, but because of the fact that it means that they are interesting in reading something that I wrote. That’s an amazing feeling and one of the best feelings out there for a writer!

Writing and publishing a book takes a lot of patience and when that process is over, so does selling your book. However, you need to be patient and you have to remind yourself that you’re just starting out. Good things take time and if you’re a good writer, you’ll make more sales.

Another important thing to remember is that it’s not enough to just write and publish a book – you have to advertise. For some, advertising and marketing written work is easier than it is for others. For example, I don’t have a lot of social media accounts. Rather, I rely on my blog along with family and friends to get the word out.

Here’s something else that is very important: remember to be appreciative for each and every sale you make. You have no idea how much it means to me that people have purchased my book; it makes me so happy. To think that for the very first time, I accomplished the goal of publishing my very own book, it’s just an awesome feeling! It’s also a wonderful feeling to know that people actually bought my book; paid good money to read something that I wrote.

So if you wrote and published your own book (or someone else published it for you), don’t worry if you don’t sell a lot of books or even any right away. Selling, just like writing or publishing, a book, takes time and effort. Have patience and work hard – your books will sell!

Leave a Reply

