Uncategorized

Using Your Dreams For Inspiration!

I’ve always had interesting dreams and somehow, been able to remember them fairly well. In fact, my brother thinks that I sometimes make them up because of how detailed they are. I don’t make them up. Last night, I even had one that I woke up right after to write down. I thought it would make an excellent story.

Well, when I woke up for good this morning and checked out what I wrote down, I wasn’t really sure what to do with the idea. Don’t get me wrong, I know that while I was dreaming, it seemed like a fantastic thing to write about. Also, the dream was frightening in a way at the time. However, many times once you wake up, dreams seem to lose their wow factor.

The dream was interesting, but interesting isn’t always enough to write a story on. Dreams have a weird habit of falling apart once you wake up. For one thing, even if you remember the dream, sometimes that feeling that came along with the dream seems to wash away. It’s hard to explain, but the urgency of it all seems to fade.

I was telling my dad about the dream and how I had initially thought it would make a good story. My dad is who I look to for writing advice so when he shrugged as if to say, “Who knows, maybe the idea could work”, I gave it some extra thought. Soon enough I realized that while maybe I couldn’t make a full novel out of the idea, maybe I could do something with it in terms of writing after all. I think I did a fairly good job of cleverly crafting a story around it. Maybe the dream is only briefly mentioned in the nine page story I wrote this afternoon, but I wrote something. I must say that I’m actually very proud of the short story.

The moral of this story is that your nightly thoughts can be very useful in writing. If you remember your dreams, write them down and don’t give up hope. Even if something doesn’t seem substantial enough for a full length novel, that doesn’t mean something fantastic can’t come out of it!

Image result for snoopy sleeping gif
Google Images
4 thoughts on “Using Your Dreams For Inspiration!”

  1. You perfectly explained how I feel about dreams. During the dream, there’s a feeling or mien in it that you just can’t bring back with you to the waking world. It’s hard to capture the feeling. I’ve had nightmares that don’t seem horrifying in explanation, but were terrifying when they’re happening. Conversely, I’ve had dreams that would seem nightmarish, but the feeling in it isn’t so. It’s very odd.

    Like

    1. Exactly! It would be awesome if we could capture that feeling and properly put it to paper! It always gets me how people say to write down your dreams right after you wake up. It’s good advice, but it’s not that simple. You still tend to lose the real strength and power of the dream.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

