Spreading the Word About Written Work

I didn’t think it would be this difficult – seriously. I thought I would mention my book on my blog and to my family and people would start to purchase it. While some people did just that, it hasn’t been as easy as I thought. This comment isn’t meant to guilt trip you guys into buying my book (seriously, it isn’t), but rather to show the difficulty of spreading the word about e-books when you don’t have a lot of social media platforms.

I don’t have a Facebook account or really any social media platform other than this blog and my other blog, Getting Through Anxiety. My main reason for this is that I don’t really trust the safety of social media. As many of you know, I’m very careful about what I say on here and on my other blog.

It’s hard though because all writers want to sell as many of their books as possible and since my book isn’t a tangible item, it’s not like people see it in every book store they go to. Rather they have to be told about my book by me, my family, friends, or just so happen to be browsing Amazon and come across it.

I’ve already told several people about my book (both online and in person) and I’ve had some sales! I’m very grateful for this! However, I feel like I’m not doing enough to get the word out and quite frankly, that’s not something I’m proud of or happy about. A part of writing a book is not only getting the book written and written well, but it’s about advertising and getting it sold.

If you’re working on a book and plan on selling it online in e-book form, I think that’s a great idea and that you should definitely go for it. In fact, Amazon Kindle is a great way to do that (and no, no one is making me say this!). However, know that you’re going to have to put a lot of effort into advertising and selling your book. It’s not as easy as it all sounds.

If you’ve already written a book and are currently selling it as an e-book, I think that’s wonderful and wish you all the best. Continue advertising the book in any way possible (as long as you feel comfortable with the ways in which you choose to advertise) and remember to stay patient! Your book should and probably will get sales, you just have to keep striving to sell more copies!

Thanks for reading and supporting my writing and if anyone has any advise on how to get the word out about my book, please let me know! Also, thank you to everyone who has spread the word about my book!

4 thoughts on “Spreading the Word About Written Work

  1. Have you tried Googling some ideas? If I were going to search, I might use words like “free,” “advertising,” & “e-books.”

    I know it’s hard because you don’t use FB, but I’m sure there must be other options out there!! Best of luck, & if I can help, please let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

