Patience and Writing

Patience and writing. I think this is something that many of us struggle with. I know that I do.

For a long time, I’ve wanted to be a published author. They say that you should write for yourself and then afterwards, think about publishing. Maybe that’s easy for some people, but it never really has been for me. Don’t get me wrong, I write because I want to. I don’t write for the popularity or the possible purchases, but I write because I enjoy it and want to share my thoughts, ideas, and words with others.

The truth is though that while I’m writing a story, I’m thinking of possibly getting it published. I’m thinking of it one day being on a shelf somewhere or online available for purchase. I mean, come on, it’s been a  dream of mine for a long time so of course I think about it!

The thing is though, that although there’s nothing wrong with hoping your story or poetry will get published, you still have to write it first and you still have to make it good enough to get it published. You have to find a way to concentrate on the writing process and do the best you can at that first. I’m not saying you can’t think about getting your story or other work published, I’m just saying that you have to learn to focus on your writing. After all, that’s the most essential part. You can’t publish a story without writing it well first.

Trust me, I know the impatience that comes with writing. I wanted to get Rest in Piece published so badly. I hated reading it a billion times and correcting my mistakes. It seemed to take forever! It was important to me though that I got rid of as many errors as I could and that I made the story as good as it could be. I didn’t want to publish a story that wasn’t good and the only way to make sure of that was to take my time! It may be hard, but it’s worth it!

So while you’re writing, try not to rush. Take your time writing and enjoy the process. When editing, keep in mind that although it can be frustrating, it’s worth the time and effort. If you want your story or other work to be amazing, you have to put in the time. I know that’s a cliche, but it’s the truth.

-B.W. Ginsburg

Want to purchase my book, Rest in Piece? Click here!

 

2 thoughts on “Patience and Writing

  1. “The truth is though that while I’m writing a story, I’m thinking of possibly getting it published.”

    You know what that means, right? It means you’re human. 😉

    Another great post!! Thank you so much for sharing this advice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

