Most Important Thing When Writing

Okay, so I know that publishing one story doesn’t make me an expert. However, I do want to share with you a piece of advice that I think is very important. When writing something you’re passionate about, do not give up!

I worked on Rest in Piece for about a year. I must say that I worked on the story on a pretty consistent basis. Admittedly though, there were times when I felt stuck and didn’t work on it for a while.

This is okay, and I think it’s pretty common. I always had a habit of beginning to write and then not completely following through or when I did, giving up on getting my stories published. That was a mistake. Writing takes patience and will power and if you’re willing to devote yourself to the craft, it’ll be worth it in the end.

Near the end of Rest in Piece, I took a break from writing for a little bit because I didn’t know what to write next. One day my dad (who I dedicated the book to) reminded me that I hadn’t worked on it in a little while. I told him that I felt stuck. His response? To think about what to do next. While that might seem like a simple answer, sometimes writer’s block makes us forget the simplest of solutions.

So I thought about what to do next with my story. Not to bring my anxiety into this, but thinking of story ideas was a great way to stop worrying about irrational things. Eventually I thought of a pretty good ending and how to write it. I’m quite happy and satisfied with how my story turned out. If I hadn’t pushed myself and listened the great wisdom bestowed upon me, I may have never finished my story and been able to accomplish something so wonderful!

There are so many important steps to follow when writing a story, poem, or other piece of work. However, in my opinion, the most important piece of advice I can give you is to not give up on your work. If you feel stuck and don’t know what to write, really give it some thought! Don’t just put your story away and forget about it or put off working on it. The longer you wait to pick up that pen or start typing, the harder it will be to feel motivated enough to finish that amazing piece of writing you’ve been working on!

-B.W. Ginsburg

Want to purchase my book, Rest in Piece? Click here!

6 thoughts on “Most Important Thing When Writing

Leave a Reply

